Buhari approves license for 20 new private universities


President Mohammadu Buhari has licensed 20 new private universities to run academic activities in Nigeria.

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) presided over by Buhari on Wednesday approved the establishment of the universities.

The federal Ministry of Education had earlier made a presentation at the FEC meeting before the approval for the license was granted.

The institutions will be given provisional licenses to run for three years, while the ministry monitors their growth.

With the approval, the total number of private universities in Nigeria has risen to 99.

The universities are Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom State; Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara State; Maranathan University, Mgbidi, Imo State; Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State, and Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano State.

Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State; Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River State; Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo State; NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna State, and Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau State.

James Hope University, Lagos, Lagos State; Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano State; Capital City University, Kano State; Ahman Pategi University, Kwara State, and University of Offa, Kwara State.

The rest are Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State; Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State; Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja; Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa State, and Anan University, Kwall, Plateau State.

Nine are located in North-Central, three in South-South, two in South-East, five in North-West and one in South-West.


ALSO READ  Buhari explains why it's difficult for security forces to curb banditry...Warns state govts to stop ransom payment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *