Breaking: Imo Assembly Speaker, Collins Chiji, Impeached, replaced by Paul Emeziem

The Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Dr. Collins Chiji, on Friday was impeached.

Chiji is representing Isiala Mbano state constituency on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the 25-member Assembly.

Majority members passed vote of no confidence on Chiji, at a special sitting of the House presided over by the Deputy Speaker, Amarachi Iwuanyanwu, who is representing Nwangele state constituency on the platform of the APC.

The motion for Chiji’s impeachment was signed by 19 out of the 27 members of the Assembly.

Meanwhile, the Assembly member, representing Onuimo state constituency, Hon. Paul Emeziem, was elected the new Speaker and was sworn in by the Clerk of the House, Mr Chinelo Emeghara, during the session.

The impeachment motion moved by Ekene Nnodumele (APC-Orsu) and seconded by Michael Njoku (APC-Ihitte Uboma) cited gross incompetence, parliamentary ineptitude, financial impropriety and high handedness as reasons for Chiji’s impeachment.

“We the undersigned representing over two-third majority of the members of the house do state our unequivocal resolution to remove Collins Chiji as the Speaker of the House for gross incompetence, parliamentary ineptitude, financial impropriety and high handedness,” Iwuanyanwu said.

Members present at the sitting were Amarachi Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele), Ekene Nnodumele (Orsu), Arthur Egwim (Ideato North), Emeka Nduka (Ehime Mbano) Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Michael Njoku (Igitte Uboma), Uju Onwudiwe (Njaba), Ngozi Obiefule (Isu) and Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) all of APC.

Others were: Johnson Duru (Ideato South), Chigozie Nwaneri (Oru East), Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Kennedy Ibeh (Obowo), Tochi Okereke (Ngor Okpala) and Chidiebere Ogbunikpa (Okigwe) all also of APC.

The rest were the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members: Okey Onyekamma (Mbaitoli), Frank Ugboma (Oguta), Solomon Anukam (Owerri Municipal), and Anyadike Nwosu (Ezinihitte).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *