14 sentenced to 2 months imprisonment for breaching Covid-19 regulations in Osun

Fourteen persons on Wednesday were sentenced to two months imprisonment by an Osun State Magistrate Court for breaching the state regulations on Coronavirus.

Those convicted are Adeoye Johnson, Ibrahim Babatunde, Akinloye Lukman, Owolabi Afeez, Hammed Basharu, Akinwande Saheed, Seun Agboola, Aribidesi Muideen, Sulaimon Ismail, Olaleye Moses, Alade Mayowa, Muniru Bashiru, Sulaiman Basaru and Omodele Titilayo.

The presiding judge, Magistrate O.A. Ayilara, convicted all the accused  persons on self admmitance.

The Prosecutor, Adeoye Kayode, a police inspector  told the court that the accused persons commited the offence on April, 8, 2020 at about 11:30 in Osogbo, Osun State capital.

The prosecutor further told the court that the accused persons disobeyed state government lockdown and stay at home order.

The prosecutor said the accused persons did conduct themselves in a manner likely to cause breach of peace by deliberately failing to comply with the state government lockdown/stay at home order.

He said the offence was contrary to and punishable under  Section 203 and 249(D) of the Criminal Code Cap 34 Vol. Il Laws of Osun State of Nigeria 2002.

The accused persons pleaded guilty to a two-count charge of disobedience to lockdown order and conduct likely to cause beech of peace.

In his ruling, Magistrate Ayilara sentenced them to two months imprisonment but said they have an option of paying a fine of N5, 000 each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *